Our Council

The AACP Council has up to 10 Directors nominated from membership and subsequently elected by the Members.

Our Council bring together their knowledge in different areas across the profession to help drive AACP’s strategy.

The President, Vice-President and Treasurer make up the Executive Committee.



Dr Terry Stubberfield

Dr Terry Stubberfield is a paediatrician in private practice in Wangaratta, and is a visiting medical officer at the Wangaratta Base Hospital since 1996.



Dr John Swieca

Dr John Swieca has been the medical director of the Melbourne Sleep Disorders Centre since returning from a Sleep Disorders Fellowship at the Cedars-Sinai Medical Centre in Los Angeles in 1994.  Dr Swieca chairs the Sleep Physicians Council of the Australasian Sleep Association, and serves on the Executive Committee of the International Restless Legs Syndrome Study Group.



Dr Nancy Bilkhu

Dr Nancy Bilkhu is a consultant physician in general medicine based in Wangaratta in rural Victoria having recently completed her advanced training as a consultant physician.  She held training positions at Austin Health and Northern Hospital in Melbourne following her advanced training in Wangaratta and Shepparton.


Dr William Heddle

Dr William Heddle is a cardiologist/electrophysiologist based in Adelaide. As well as working in private practice, he is a Senior Consultant Cardiologist at Flinders Medical Centre and Senior Lecturer in Medicine at Flinders University of South Australia. Dr Heddle has been on the Executive of the Australian Medical Association (SA) for the past decade, was AMA (SA) President from 2003 to 2005 and from 2004 has been the Physician Craft Group representative on the AMA Federal Council. Since 2003 he has been an elected member of the SA State Committee of the RACP.

Dr Andrew Nunn

Dr Andrew Nunn is a rehabilitation physician working as a Director in the Victorian Spinal Cord Service, private practice and rural clinics. Dr Nunn has a strong interest in the application of technology in ehealth, patient monitoring and assistive and therapeutic devices. He has had administrative roles in Alfred Health Care Group, including Head of Nonacute Business Unit and Chief Clinical Advisor Inner and Eastern Healthcare network. He has also enjoyed a long association with both Monash and Melbourne Universities in engineering and medicine through teaching and research.

Dr Anthony Roberts

Dr Anthony Roberts is currently the Medical Co-ordinator of the RAH Thyroid and Parathyroid Clinic. Dr Roberts is Principal Investigator of SA Endocrine Research Pty Ltd and has conducted over two hundred international clinical trials. He is also very committed to postgraduate teaching and gives numerous lectures each year.

Executive Officer

Ms Janine Sargeant AM

Past Presidents

Presidents are elected for a three to four year term, and the period of Office is November to November.

Year Name
2019 – Dr Terry Stubberfield
2016 – 2019 Associate Professor Peter Ruchin
2013 – 2016 Professor Rick McLean
2009 – 2013 Professor William Heddle AM
2005 – 2009 Associate Professor Les Bolitho AM

Board elections

In November each year the AACP holds it’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) where elections are held for vacant positions on the Board. The role of the Board is to set the strategic direction of AACP and agree on the focus areas of our advocacy.